New Jersey

Code Section
34:19-1, et seq.

Prohibited Activity
Can not discharge, suspend, demote, or take other retaliatory action if employee discloses or threatens to disclose an activity, policy, or practice of employer or other, with whom there’s a business relationship, testify or object to or refuse to participate if action violates law, rule is fraudulent or criminal or incompatible with clear mandate concerning public health, safety, welfare, or protection of the environment

Public or Private Employees
Both

Opportunity for Employer to Correct?
Must bring violation to attention of a supervisor and afford a reasonable opportunity to correct, unless violation is known to supervisor or employee reasonably fears physical harm as a result of disclosure and situation is an emergency in nature

Remedies
Can file civil action within one year of incident and receive all remedies available in civil law torts including injunction, reinstatement, reinstate full benefits and seniority rights, back pay and benefits, reasonable court and attorney’s fees, punitive damages

Penalties
Civil fine, maximum $1,000 for first violation and maximum of $5,000 for each subsequent violation


Inside New Jersey