West Virginia

Code Section
6C-1-1, et seq.

Prohibited Activity
Can not discharge, threaten, or otherwise discriminate or retaliate if employee or representative reports or testifies as to a violation of state or federal statute or regulation, or ordinance of political subdivision or regulation or code of conduct or ethics designed to protect public from employer waste

Public or Private Employees
Public

Opportunity for Employer to Correct?
N/A

Remedies
Can file civil action within 180 days of violation for reinstatement, back pay, full fringe benefits and seniority rights, actual damages, court and attorney’s fees

Penalties
Civil fine maximum $500 and if violator holds a public office by election or appointment and committed violation with intent to discourage disclosure: suspension maximum 6 months
Code Section
21-3A-13

Prohibited Activity
Can not discharge or discriminate if employee files a complaint, institutes a proceeding or testifies regarding a
violation of the occupational safety and health act

Public or Private Employees
Public

Opportunity for Employer to Correct?
N/A

Remedies
Can file complaint with commissioner within 30 days for reinstatement, back pay, and other appropriate relief

Penalties
N/A


Inside West Virginia